"A flashaholics worst nightmare."

SOS Version Numbers and Hot Fixes Explained

VER Clarification

The first version was 2.0.9 (or 2.0.9.0). As each hot fix comes out, an imaginary number will be added to the VER number. When I commit the hot fix changes (like I did in 2.0.9.4), you know that is a more stable version that has .X number of hot fixes included. So, I included the first 4 hot fixes in the first commit.

The first release of the next version will be 2.1.0 (which I will require all to download, sorry hot fix followers). After that it will be 2.1.1, 2.1.2, etc for each hot fix that comes out – but there may not be a commit for every hot fix release. Also, I am generally only going to update build.props (that have the version number inside of the ROM) every ten releases – i.e. 2.0.9, 2.1.0, 2.2.0.

I hope that clears some things up 🙂

Hot Fix Details

There’s been a lot of confusion over the Hot Fixes. Some people get it, others don’t. Here’s the skinny: the Hot Fixes are modifications to the ROM that allow users to add new files into the ROM so that they don’t have to download a new update to the ROM. To apply the fixes, the user must copy the new files into the ROM zip and then re-flash the ROM.

“But why can’t you just put out a new version?”

The ROM is getting fatter by the day (currently around 300MB) and I don’t want to make you guys have to download all this over and over again for a new mod you may not use or a fix for a mod you will never see in your ROM.

“But why can’t you just make a flashable .zip?”

This is a great question and in the past, this is what I would have done. But this new SOS is going to have 6 ROMs built-in to one. All of the modifications occur during installation. Flashable .zips affect after the installation. If I put out a flashable .zip that helps SOS N users and an SOS X user flashes it, they are probably dealin’ with bootloops now. Trust me, this is easier.

“Do I have to delete files.”

No, the first Hot Fix required it but that ultimately didn’t fix the problem. When I release “commits” those will delete unnecessary files, you guys don’t have to worry about deleting those.

I hope you are all enjoying the new releases and I’m working hard to get more out!

Swag for Life!

4 responses

  1. JEAN CHERY

    I’ve been using your Rom then I really like it . It’s cool and very stable compare to other find out there. The new SOS X following the hot fixes are very excellent. GOOD JOB MAN

    April 15, 2012 at 3:25 PM

  2. mike

    do i have to do each hotfix in order or can i just do the last one?

    April 16, 2012 at 3:39 PM

  3. Muddcasa

    Great ROM dude. Thanks for you work.

    April 17, 2012 at 8:16 PM

  4. thank you

    April 23, 2012 at 6:10 PM

Leave a Reply

